From Spartan Blog: Tales From the Chicked: Heather Rayburn

I followed a maze of blog links to get to this post, and it was absolutely worth it.  Heather Rayburn writes about completing her first Spartan Race (an obstacle race, complete with walls to climb, fire to jump, and mud to slog through); as she notes, “I was told by the Spartan Staff that, as far as they know, I am the first VI/Legally Blind competitor to finish this race.”  I love that she says,

I think the biggest thing I learned is that I am not bound by obstacles.  My vision, or any disability really, is an obstacle, just like the obstacles in the Spartan Race.  How you deal with it is up to you.  Some obstacles, like some days or some tasks, take more concentration, more instruction from others, and more determination to conquer.

The best part?  She’s already signed up to do the race again next year!

Read Heather’s story at http://blog.spartanrace.com/tales-from-the-chicked-heather-rayburn/#comment-12226

This entry was posted in Colorado, Events, Random Thoughts and Observations and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

