Yes You Can Can

Sunday night, I decided to rid myself of the Community Supported Agriculture (CSA) peaches camped out in the fridge and make some jam.  To make it more fun, I decided to have the kids help me.  Yes, I had my 5-year old child with a vision impairment and my almost-three-year-old help me can.  You know what?  You, and your VI kiddo, can too.

First, our recipe:  Ginger-Peach Jam from Allrecipes.com.  You can get the recipe we used here:  http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Ginger-Peach-Jam/Detail.aspx?event8=1&prop24=SR_Thumb&e11=ginger%20peach&e8=Quick%20Search&event10=1&e7=Home%20Page&soid=sr_results_p1i1

Next, some additional tools:

1)  A cutting board for each helper.

A blunt serrated knife with an orange handle lays across a white cutting board with a grey border.

One of our Safe Cutters atop a peachy cutting board.

2)  A knife for each helper.   Whilst fundraising for Trolley Run, I bought two “My Safe Cutters” from Pampered Chef for the kids.  (You can buy one here:  http://www.pamperedchef.com/ordering/prod_details.tpc?prodId=9761&words=kid)  This was our first real test of the product, and I have to say, it was about perfect.  The tip is rounded, so they couldn’t stab themselves.  It’s a serrated blade that works to saw through items, but didn’t cut straight down quickly and easily like my paring knife.  In short, it was the perfect tool for my two little helpers to get to cut up some peaches and develop manual dexterity and cutting skills.

3.  A hot water bath canner with a can lifter, or, if you’re feeling daring, any pot that will allow you to put your jars in and have 2″ of boiling water above their lids.  (Seriously–you can use a dutch oven if you want.  A canner’s just more convenient.)

4.  A small sauce pan to boil your lids in.  (The lids have to be hot.  The rings don’t.)

5.  A lid lifter.  (You don’t want to burn yourself getting the lids out.)  Mine is a cool magnetic tool that Efrit picked up for me for about $2 at O’Reilly’s Auto Parts.  You can pay about $20 for one that’s marked for canning at a specialty store if you want.

6.  A funnel.  Not really necessary, but it makes filling small-mouth jam jars easier.  Mine’s bright yellow and came from O’Reilly’s.

7.  Tongs to lift your jars out of the canner to fill them (the jars need to be hot before they’re filled).  I find my metal salad tongs work great, but you can buy a specialty tool for this too if you want.

8.  Paper towels to wipe the rims (you want there to be a good seal between the lid and the jar, and jam hampers that if you’ve been messy).

9.  Hot pads.

10.  A cloth to set your freshly-canned jam on.

11.  A ladle or big spoon of some sort to spoon the jam into the jars.

12.  About 8 8oz jars.  Ball’s are lovely.

Finally, our results:

I think just about anyone can enjoy hot-water-bath canning, regardless of how well they see.  It’s a matter of figuring out what works for you and adapting accordingly.  I did the bulk of the cooking for this recipe:  the crystalized ginger is tough to cut, and there’s no way I’m letting kids as small as mine near the cooktop when it’s got three burners blazing and three pots boiling.  Still, as they get older, if they’re interested, I’ll let them get more involved in the process. Someday, Peanut is going to need to be able to feed himself, and if he wants to feed himself with home-canned goodness, more power to him.  We’ll just need to figure out how to adapt it along the way.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and Observations and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Yes You Can Can

  1. Bill Fitzgerald says:

    I am 48 years old and my vision is 20/200. Peanut will adapt and with the support that it appears that he is getting from you he will accomplish anything he wants to in life because he will believe it is possible. I think that the real trick is to never listen to those who say “you can’t do that”.
    good luck in all you do

    • Phouka says:

      Peanut starts kindergarten tomorrow (scary for any parent, I’m guessing!)–your timing for your comment was perfect, and you totally made my day. Thank you.

      • Bill Fitzgerald says:

        I am glad to hear that. You are right, it is scary for any parent and you no doubt have additional fears that many people can’t comprehend but yet you do not let them stop you or peanut.
        I hope you both had a great first day.

  2. Jessica says:

    That would be fun to make. Tom loves peanut butter and jelly so maybe we should make some grape jelly soon? Thanks for the great idea!

    Tom loved helping me make bread but we stopped when it got hot. Almost time for that again. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Today, Applesauce. Tomorrow, the World. | Peanut and Phouka's Adventures

Leave a Reply

