Urban Air

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Location:  14401 Metcalf Ave, Overland Park, KS 66223

Cost:  Pricey.  The amount you pay relates to the options you choose.  In my instance, I had a 5-yo, 8-yo, and an adult; I paid for two hours bounce time for the three of us, and two hours access to the indoor playground for the kids.  This cost $55.  No, really.  $55.

Web Site:  http://www.urbanairtrampolinepark.com/overland-park-kansas-trampoline-park/

After watching Lex Gillette go to Sky Zone (you can see the video on YouTube here:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LGkiyyOCCKA) and getting a gift certificate to Urban Air, I figured Peanut could probably handle a trampoline park and decided to give it a try.  So, last month, over Spring Break, I packed Peanut and Sprout in the car and drove across town to Urban Air.

There are two main parts to Urban Air:  an indoor playground and an indoor trampoline park.  The playground is like a four-story tall McDonald’s play structure.  It has slides, a ball pit, air guns, giant blocks, and soft toys.  The trampoline park includes two “bowl” systems with multiple trampolines attached together and trampolines on the walls, a warrior course (this costs extra–we skipped it), two dodge ball courts with trampolines (we skipped these too), two long trampoline runs for gymnasts, and a set of trampolines by an air bag you can flip or jump into.

I bought a pass for myself to jump because I honestly thought Peanut would need a sighted guide to navigate the park.  I was wrong:  he took off at light speed in the big bowl and was just fine.  The trampolines are black and the pads between them are bright orange, so they’re high-contrast enough to work with his low vision.  My sighted five-year-old was much more trepidatious.  Peanut had some issues with being able to see smaller children, but as long as I acted as a spotter he was fine on his own.

Both kids adored the indoor playground–there was lots of tactile stuff to play with, tons of places to climb, and I wasn’t particularly interested in climbing with them, so they largely got to go on their own.  There’s a wall around the playground so kids can’t wander off, but the space between the structure and the back walls is plain concrete.  It was hard for me to keep track of the two kids by myself (I imagine that’s true regardless of how well your kids see), and climbing up in the structure to help wasn’t the most comfortable for my adult-sized frame.

Both of my kids had a great time and would love to go back; I was less impressed and am not likely to take them.  It was a lot of money for a relatively short play time, and I think we could get more bang for our buck elsewhere.

Final thoughts:

  • The Indoor Playground is for ages 8 and under.  Most of the smaller children (think babies and toddlers) were gathered here, so there’s a huge range in ability level of the kids playing in the structure.  This can make things difficult:  big kids aren’t always good at playing with and around little kids.
  • The facility is not remotely accessible.  If you need a wheelchair, gait trainer, or other assistive device, Urban Air is not for you.  You need to be able to put your equipment aside to really play with their equipment.
  • No shoes are allowed in the facility; I’m guessing they would also frown on braces.  They only allow “approved” socks; I’m not sure how closely that is patrolled, however.
  • You’ll need to sign a computerized release form before you enter the park–it’s to the right of the entry area, across from the sales counter.  It basically says trampolines are inherently dangerous and you’re not going to sue if you or your kiddo gets hurt.
  • I learned that trampolines are . . . interesting . . .  for mothers.  Things are not as well attached post-children as they were pre-children–you may wet yourself on the trampoline.  (No, I didn’t.  Yes, the sensation was odd and it was a definite possibility.  Yes, I know women who have.)  If your kiddo has issues with continence, a trampoline park may not be the best idea.
  • Both Lex and Peanut had fun, so this is a workable place if your only issue is vision.  If you have other mobility issues, however, I would suggest skipping Urban Air.

 

This entry was posted in Kansas, Kansas City Metro Area, Overland Park and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

